Hotels   Destinations   Places   About Us   Contact Us   Links   Terms   Faqs   Payment   Tools 
HOME : Previous Print this Page   Send e-mail to Us


   Mayabeque Hotels [2]   Mayabeque What to do [0]
MayabequeMayabeque Province. It is one of the two new provinces, together with Artemisa Province, approved by the National Assembly of Cuba in August 2010 and whose operation came into force on January 9, 2011.
The capital of the new Mayabeque province is San José de las Lajas. This new political-administrative division changes the one that governed in 1976. Cuba is divided into 15 provinces and 168 municipalities according to the new division.
Mayabeque is one of the four provinces, along with Havana, Camagüey and Guantánamo with aboriginal origin, which reinforces the Cuban cultural tradition.
It occupies the fourteenth place in extension between the provinces with 3743.8 square kilometers, representing 3.40 percent of the total area of the country, is the second smallest extension among all the Provinces of Cuba, just ahead of Havana. It also has the smallest population
The legend makes reference to the chiefdom of Habanaguex in the south of Havana, and Mayabeque was the autochthonous name of the river that waters the fertile valley where several Mayan-Mayan municipalities settle today. The river is one of the largest and most important in the area, which runs from north to south. The economic prosperity of the region, as a result of the benefits of this channel, was a fundamental factor for the construction of the Iron Road to Güines, which would be the first railroad in Latin America (1837) and the first major producer and exporter center. , entering large capitals, becoming the nucleus and cradle of the national sugar industry, reaching 94 mills in all its jurisdiction.
The Mayabeque province borders the province of Havana, the capital of Cuba and the Straits of Florida, to the north, the Gulf of Batabano to the south, the Matanzas Province to the east and the Artemisa Province to the west.
The province has a total of 11 municipalities: Bejucal, San Jose de las Lajas, Jaruco, Santa Cruz del Norte, Madruga, Nueva Paz, San Nicolás de Bari, Güines, Melena del Sur, Batabano, Quivican.
Its relief is characterized by the Havana-Matanzas Plain where the South Havana-Matanzas Plain and the Bejucal and Madruga Heights, belonging to the Bejucal Madruga Coliseo Heights, where the highest point of the province is located, the Palenque with 331, 5 meters high.
Airport: Havana Airport
  Mayabeque Hotels Mayabeque What to do  
Shopping Cart
Items in your Cart: 0

24 hours Client Attention
phone number
535 2851128

Havana, Cuba Local Weather